New Companion, Same Area!

Oi GENTE!

QUE SEMANA MARAVILHOSA!
This week was a pretty great week filled with many ups and downs but tis the life of a missionary!
Divisions:
Because my companion Sister Pivari was sister training leader she had to go on splits with other areas in our zone. Which also means that I had to go on splits in our zone. But our zone is pretty big so I ended up spending the night in different lugares cada..almost every night!
Ahhh and I dont really have time to explain my week.
Bullet points will have to suffice:
1.) Today was transfers and my companion Sister Pivari went home to Sao Paulo because she finished her mission! Anyways I cried, it was great…not used to having emotions but thats one thing I have definitely gained on the mission. Im sensitive as heck…Im turning into my mom…WHAT IS THIS?!
2.) New companion! So my new companion is Sister Wheatly…its actually pretty funny because before I came to the mission I had been reading her blog every month to learn more about the mission. But I think its weird if I tell her that…so instead I will tell all of my friends and family and facebook. Anyways she’s American too! She’s from North Carolina, super blonde curly hair and blue eyes. (I already get called “americana bonita” on the street….this will be an interesting transfer!) She has 10 months on the mission and this will be her first time as Senior! Im super excited and I feel like this transfer will be INCREDIBLE! Also Im staying in Mangabeira and probably will leave the next transfer, but man I LOVE the members here!!!
3.) We celebrated my 4 months this past Saturday..Im actually kind of stressed that time is passing SO fast! But Sister Pivari and Tota and Goes made a chocolate thing… for me. With sticky notes and a big sign that said happy 4 months. And Im rambling about things that really arent important lol.
4.) Our district made t-shirts this transfer and each person needed a phrase in portugues they always say. My companion and Sister Tota chose mine for me….sooo it was “Mae preciso papel”. So the sister that trains you on the mission is your “mom”. So I always yelled that I needed toliet paper….anways I have a t-shirt with this…so thats great. I will wear it with pride. Also for my 4 months the sisters wrapped toliet paper and put a bow on it.
Scriptural Studies:
-So Im reading the book of mormon each day in Portugues for 30 minutes. I just started this past week and Im in 1 nephi chapter 15. Anyways I was thinking about how incredible the story of Nephi and his family is and how it can help us in this generation. Anyways an overall lesson Im getting from the story is that we have two examples of ways we can live our lives. We can be as Laman and Lemuel or Nephi and Sam. Both had the same experiences and were on the same journey the difference was their attitudes!
Here on the mission, if you dont have a great attitude your day is going to be horrible. Because honestly there are so many things here that you can find to hate.
Anyways I dont remember what verse it was buttttt Laman and Lemuel are complaining about not being able to understand the dream that their father Lehi had. The Lord promised them that if they just ask in prayer having faith that the Lord would give them an understanding. But Laman and Lemuel literally said “We will not ask because the Lord with not give us an understanding”.
Its this lack of faith, that gets us sometimes. We all have a promise that if we lack wisdom we can ask of god (Tiago 1:5….James). And as well we have a promise that if we read the book of mormon and ask in prayer if these things are true. WE WILL RECIEVE AN ANSWER. God will make it known unto you that the book is true. (BECAUSE IT IS. IT SO IS TRUE).
I have a strong testimony about this church, this gospel. A testimony that I didnt have before the mission. I honestly didnt realize how little I actually knew, how little I actually was doing to be productive in this life. God if the same God yesterday today and forever, and it just wouldnt make sense if we didnt have prophets and apostles like we had in the time of the bible. There are SO many things I have yet too learn and I regret a little….about sleeping in Seminary every morning. Because I was there physically but lost so much of an opportunity to learn. But there’s no way stubborn high school me would listen to (older wiserw, beautiful, incredible, amazing….lol jokezinho) me right now.
13087753_1728107187457289_142888958324744039_n
*We have yet to try the giant ants…but they only come out after rain (and its raining right now) so soon very soon!
*Also Sister Pivari and I went to another church with one of our investigators and it was really interesting BUT I DON’T HAVE TIME. And it wouldn’t do it justice if I talked about it now. So next week!
ALSO IF ALL MY FRIENDS COULD STOP GETTING ENGAGED AND MARRIED. THAT WOULD BE GREAT. YES THAT MEANS YOU MICHAEL HAROLDS AND AMANDA HORTON. SHEEESH!!! I WOULD LIKE TO BE AT YOUR WEDDINGS.
Fica tranquillo!
-Sister Adelman
Leave a Reply

