Week Three: CTM Brazil

Oi everyone!!

A whole month at the CTM and I just learned that Oi is indeed Oi and NOT Hoy…lol
Last week was kind of crazy and I didnt have a chance to send out a general email. They for sure keep you busy here at the good ole CTM. THANK YOU for those of you who email me every week. They really do mean a lot and I read them ALWAYS! Its fun to get short little emails. Ill try my best to get back to all of you!
I feel like the list format is the easiest soooo here we go…
-Last Wednesday (2 Wednesdays ago I guess) we added a new companion to our little companionship! She was waiting for her visa in the Provo MTC and finally got it. Her name is Sister Sutton and shes from good ole Indiana! Shes about 6 foot tall and hilarious! She is actually from the same ward as my Aunt and Uncle ANDDD SHE KNOWS BROOKE (shout out cause you get these emails now, love you Sister Sauder!!!). It was hard at first to adjust BUTTT I absolutely love our companionship. Being in a trio is hard but each person brings something incredible to the companionship (I like to think I bring the humor).
-We had the opportunity to go proslyting (Im pretty sure I will never be able to spell that right) on Wednesday (same day the new companion came!) and it was incredible. We walked to the bus stop which is about 3 blocks away and then took the bus to this giant bus station/train station/subway place and each companionship had 8 books of mormon to hand out! Sister Dunlop and I were done within 40 minutes…and continued to struggle through Portuguese with the natives. It was FANTASTIC. And I cant wait until Im out on the street of Joao Pessoa impacting real people. I even had a guy yell at me and tell me I wasnt mormon. It was great.
Funny Happening:
-Sister Dunlop and I have a bathroom in our bedroom which isnt normal for the CTM. So with having our own bathroom means we have to have our own toilet paper right? Well for maybe three weeks we didnt have any tolielt paper in our room because we had NO idea how to ask in Portuguese where it was. So every night we would go into the public bathrooms and stuff our purses full of toiley paper. BUT ALAS WE HAVE FOUND THE TOILET PAPER. And we still dont know how to ask for more. But we have our own little stash.
-For Breakfast some morning we have this little chocolate cake thing that is made by a company named DulcePecado which translates to “sweet sin”. One of the Brazilians was asking us how to say “pecado” in english and my companion Sister Sutton was like “OH I THINK ITS A SIN”. and the Brazilian was like Ohhhh Obrigado!! “Sweet I think its a sin”. IT was a total Tarzan Jane moment.
-Ok so the cafeteria here fits about 50 people at a time because this CTM has barely any missionaries compared to provo. Anyways for those of you that know me really well, I have quite a laugh. Anyways I have this story about Cheesecake that I told my district during lunch one day and it just gets me laughing every time I tell it. Anyways, So I told this story and began bursting out in laughter (because lets face it im hilarious) and then the table next to us starts laughing at my laugh, and then the other table starts laughing at my laugh. AND then the entire cafeteria (NO JOKE) was laughing…at me…ehem with me!!
Favorite Quotes:
“Do what God would have you do today, and then do that again tomorrow”
(Dont get caught up in the future, make today count!!)
“You wanted me to change the world. Did you think there’d be no cost?—It costs everything you have on the altar of sacrifice-youre fears, your pride, your laziness, your disobedience, your weaknesses, we can not hold anything back”
After reading this above quote, I was studying in Isaiah and came across this scripture (ISAIAH 1:11) And go to thinking about it. The sacrifice was never about the killing of the animal. It was symbolizism. Its about killing the animal inside, about letting go of the natural man and losing all sense of pride. Anyways, just some thoughts 🙂
Favorite Scripture: Alma 13:28-29
Brazil is Incredible and I love you all! Until next time…
Thats all folks!
-Sister Adelman!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

